Oman News Agency


Geographic Location.

Geographic Location
The Sultanate of Oman occupies a vitally important strategic location factor that has always been reflected in its foreign policy and trade relations. Outward-looking and lying in South-East corner of the Arabian Peninsula between latitudes 16\u0652 40" and 26\u0652 20" to the North and longitudes 51\u0652 50" and 59\u0652 40" to the East, the coastlines extends from the Strait of Hormuz in the North to the border with the Republic of Yemen in the South.
Oman overlooks three seas. The Arabian Gulf, the Sea of Oman and the Arabian Sea. Oman, the third largest country in the Arabian Peninsula, has land borders with Yemen, Saudi Arabia and the United Arab Emirates. Oman lies on the Tropic of Cancer, and the total land area is approximately 309,500 sq.kms. This varies from one area to another.
It is hot and humid on the coastal areas in summer, while it is hot and dry in the Interior with the exception of higher mountains which enjoy a moderate climate throughout the year round. Rainfall is generally light and irregular. In the South, the Governorate of Dhofar has a moderate climate with heavy monsoon rains occurring regularly between June and September. The Sultanate is administratively divided into eleven governorates (Muscat, Dhofar, Musandam, Al Buraimi, A'Dakhiliyah, North Al Batinah, South Al Batinah, North A'Sharqiyiah, South A'Sharqiyiah, A'Dhahirah and Al Wusta). These governorates comprise several wilayats (61 wilayats). Each governorate has one or more regional centres( total is 12 centres).